Unsuccessful blogger…

March 5, 2009 at 4:25 am (Uncategorized) ()

I just found a recent blog post from Dean Shareski called Student and Teaching Blog that Succeeds that comforted me greatly.  I have been pretty vocal that blogging isn’t for me.  The thought of putting something on the internet for all to see and critique really freaked me out.  Plus, with millions of blogs out there, does what I have to say really differ from what others post?  I know that blogging isnt about that so I have to keep reminding myself of it. 

Anyways, what I found helpful was that blogging was mostly about reading, not writing.  I feel that I am constantly trying to think of something to post for my blog but really most of my time should be spent reading and commenting on what others have to say.  He also talks about hyperlinking, making it personal and getting graphical. 

I think this is a great post for teachers who are about to implement blogs into their classroom.  I know that some students have many things to say and wont find blogging a problem, but for the students like me who stress at the thought of  writing something, this is for them!! 

6 Comments

  1. Natalya Ayling said,

    Love this post Joni. Very comforting and a worthwhile read for me-don’t doubt yourself in your writing. This was a great one!
    I have the same stresses as you and being such a new teacher, I very much doubt my own educational thoughts and thinking so I prefer to keep them to myself. As a result of this wanting to write anything on my blog is a real challenge. I am definitely getting more into the reading of others posts though and for sure this is very helpful and I will keep this up even when this masters course has finished.
    Thanks Joni
    Nat 🙂

  2. wycombewinaway said,

    I agree blogging seems to be like a giant discussion which continues through links to other blogs. These tend to be well written and my entries just don’t seem as well written or perhaps as controversial. It is often these blogs which create traffic and many comments.

  3. Ståle Brokvam said,

    My advice is, start small. When you read something that in some way kinda, sorta relates to what you’re doing, but there are some differences, then explore those. To use a sports metaphor (which I really shouldn’t, as I’m clueless in that department), you pick up the ball and run with it, but you don’t have to go that far – just give it a try, to get comfortable.

    Link to that other post that inspired you (like you did to Dean’s post). You don’t have to go out on a limb and say something really controversial or profound. If the act of reading what someone else has said and then formulating your thoughts about how this does or does not apply to you has given you some new insight or shed new light on something you knew but weren’t conscious of, then I’d say that’s a successful post.

    It’s not about having the most widely read blog out there. You’ll be surprised at times, though, when you suddenly get comments on something you’ve written that you didn’t think was that groundbreaking, but perhaps there was someone else who was thinking about the exact same thing… such as, in this case, what this whole blogging thing really is all about.

    I agonized a lot more about stating my opinions to begin with, but found over time that I worry (quite a bit) less whether someone might disagree with what I say. It was interesting then to see Sasha a year or two ago, really fretting over his first post on our school IT blog and wanting my opinion on it before he published it, and I realized that’s just how I felt when I first started blogging. (In fact, I deleted my first blog after only three posts as I suddenly felt all self-conscious and “who am I to think that anyone else would care what I say…?”).

  4. dickinsonn said,

    Not unsuccessful at all! You have given me links to some good reading here.

    Nadine

  5. pekina said,

    Great post Joni, I feel the same. The good part of blogging Joni is that you will see that many others think and feel just like you do. Your immediate friends may not feel the same way and it is easy to feel daunted. Blogging links to so many like minded others that we may not otherwise connect with. From reading others blogs and listening to podcasts about blogs it seems that many people feel the same way when starting and in fact are empathic to all us new bloggers and full of nothing but encouragement. Great post!

  6. Dean Shareski said,

    I would say these comments confirm the fact that you have something important to say and should be sharing it.

Leave a Reply

